Dewhurst Stakes: Churchill gives Aidan O'Brien 20th Group One winner

Churchill, Ryan Moore

Churchill earned champion trainer Aidan O’Brien his 20th Group One winner of 2016 with a narrow victory in the Dubai Dewhurst Stakes at Newmarket.

The 4-6 favourite ridden by Ryan Moore produced a late charge to beat 66-1 stablemate Lancaster Bomber and win the major two-year-old prize of the autumn.

Seven Heavens, son of Frankel, finished down the field.

Churchill is the early favourite to star in 2017 in both the 2000 Guineas and the Epsom Derby.

More to follow.

Subscribe to the BBC Sport newsletter to get our pick of news, features and video sent to your inbox.

Let’s block ads! (Why?)

BBC Sport – Horse Racing

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *